Frequently Asked Questions

Texas LTC

How do I apply for a License?


You may apply online at http://www.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/LTC/ OR print, fill out and mail in the appropriate forms under “Downloadable Forms” in the left-hand navigation bar of the LTC website.




How long is the LTC valid?


Your Initial licenses is valid for (4) years. Renewal licenses are valid for (5) years. The license will remain valid as long as you continue to meet all the eligibility criteria.




What is the complete total for everything?


Class*: $80.00 Range Fee*: $15.00 Fingerprints: $10.00 State Fee: $40.00 Gun Rental (if needed): $30.00 Approximate Total (fees mentioned above may vary*) : $145.00 (Without Gun Rental) $175.00 (With Rental)




Once I submit my application, when should I expect to receive my license?


DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing. Read more on Texas Dep. of Public Safety website- https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/ltc/faqs/index.htm




Eligibility requirements for LTC?


- No Felony Convictions Ever - No Class A or B Misdemeanors five years before applying with the State of Texas - Eligible to purchase handguns - 21 years of age or older unless active duty military - 18 and older for active duty military - Can not be delinquent in child support obligations.




If I do not have a Texas ID / Drivers license can I still apply for my Texas LTC?


Yes, you will need to complete an addition form and submit your own passport photo.




How do I submit my LTC paperwork


What you will need:

  • DL/ID Number

  • Credit Card/Debit Card

  • Previous addresses for 5 years prior to application.

  • Previous job history for 5 years prior to application, including the business addresses.

  • All previous criminal history. This includes all arrests regardless of the outcome. Dates of charges, county and disposition date will be needed.

  • LTC-100 Certificate of completion. This is submitted after the application is completed.

Step 1- Apply Online

-Go to DPS website-https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/

-Select handgun licensing

-Select online services

-Select new user, follow prompts and complete application

Step 2-Fingerprints-Identogo

-Go to identogo website and make an appointment for fingerprints

https://www.identogo.com/services/live-scan-fingerprinting

-Select Texas

-Digital FIngerprints

-Enter your service code (provided by DPS)

Step-3- Submit LTC-100 / LTC-101 Certificate.Your LTC 100 / 101 is the form received after completeing the LTC course. If an online LTC course was taken you will have an LTC 101. The LTC 101 is only complete and ready to submit once the shooting qulification is complete. **These forms should never be submitted to DPS until after the online application has been started with the above steps. It is possible to submit the forms before the application has been started, but DPS will not know what to do with it as there will be no account to attach it to.




What should I bring with me to class?


-Pen and Paper to take notes -Range appropriate clothing -Baseball cap or any hat with a bill (Highly Recommended) -No open-toed shoes -No low cut shirts -Eye Protection (prescription eyeglasses, sunglasses are fine) -Handgun (of any caliber) or rent one for -$30.00 (Includes ammunition, ear, and eye protection) -Most importantly an open mind ready to learn!




If i qualify with a revolver, Will I be able to carry a semi-auto?


Yes, and vice versa.




What are the shooting requirements for range qualification?


From a standing position, you will fire 20 rounds from 3 yards, 20 rounds from 7 yards, and 10 rounds from 15 yards. For a total of 50 rounds. The target will be a B27 silhouette.
you will be required to score 175 points, out of a possible 250.
Need help with your shooting before the LTC Class? Not sure you can score high enough? Consider taking our Basic Handgun Course and get the skills needed to pass the qualification shooting for LTC!




What if I fail my shooting portion of my LTC?


If you fail to score a 175 out of a possible 250, You will have the option to re-shoot for your LTC. Or you can choose to take basic handgun at a discounted rate. Then re-qulify for your LTC. If you fail to pass at that point, You will have to re-take your LTC course again.




What type of a gun do I have to qualify with?


You may qualify with a semi-automatic or a revolver. To qualify for a license, you must demonstrate proficiency with a handgun of .22 LR caliber or above.





Basic Courses

Do you offer gun rentals for your courses?


YES!, We have several weapon systems to choose from. all rental rates are listed under the course you are intrested in. When booking a course just select gun rental and we will contact you.